Follow Us On

INEC Continues Compiling Results of the Bayelsa Governor’s Election

The tallying of election results for the November 11, 2023, Bayelsa State governorship elections was taken up by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) on Sunday. 

The results collation was put on hold on Saturday night and will pick back up at 10 a.m. on Sunday. Before the postponement on Sunday morning, results from three of the state’s eight local government areas—Kolokuma/Opokuma, Ogbia, and Yenegoa—were compiled.

The activity was restarted at 4 p.m. today by Prof. Faruq Kuta, the state returning officer for the Bayelsa election and vice chancellor of the Federal University of Technology, Minna.

As of the time this report was filed, data was still being gathered for the other local government areas, which are Brass, Ekeremor, Nembe, Sagbama, and Southern Ijaw.

Candidate sponsorship for the Bayelsa election came from sixteen political parties.

Timipre Sylva, a former state governor and minister of petroleum resources, is the principal opponent of Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) governor Duoye Diri in the state of Bayelsa.

In the survey, Sylva, the All Progressives Congress (APC) nominee, served as governor of Bayelsa twice: first from May 2007 to April 2008 and again from May 2008 to January 2012.

See Bayelsa Results So Far:

Sagbama LGA

APC – 6608

LP – 217

PDP – 35504

Kolokuma/Opokuma LGA

APC – 5349

LP – 22

PDP – 18465

Ogbia LGA

APC – 16319

LP – 57

PDP – 18435

Yenegoa LGA

APC – 14534

LP – 244

PDP – 37777

Nembe LGA

APC – 22248

LP – 113

PDP – 4556

Ekeremor LGA

APC – 8445

LP – 50

PDP – 23172

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Articles

Back to top button

Discover more from KPOMKWEM

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading